abonnement Unibet Coolblue
pi_182007504
The Herlings Season

Jeffrey Herlings has hardly been short of a word or two in 2018. Aside from the Grand Prix of Ottobiano in Italy (round 11 of 20) where he was still convalescing from collarbone surgery after a training crash, the new MXGP World Champion has been present in every post-race press conference this year, 16 times as a GP winner. Instead of the 24-year-old talking about his memorable campaign and first title in the premier class in just his second term on the 450 SX-F, we asked for some background from the people around him.

Valentina Ragni, Red Bull team coordinator: I’ve been working with Jeffrey for many years, but I have never seen him this focused and concentrated on his goal. He has always been very professional in his job, motivated, and working hard, but this year is a new level. The story of him living like a “monk” is almost true! This year, all we have heard about is the amount of time he is riding and the effort to look at details like his nutrition. At some moments I was a little worried he was over the limit, but he told me he needed to watch his weight and maximize his strength. As a joke, he sends me photos of the weighing scales and, for his height, I doubt there are many at the same weight but with the same strength.

Ruben Tureluren, training mechanic, assistant, and confidant: He is mentally strong and knows his abilities and works so hard. Don’t forget that he has a very strong commitment and desire to win. I’ve never seen anyone else like that.